Life Since High School

Terry in 1968

Terry Shimanek Hoffman

"Mitch, it is impossible for the old not to envy the young. But the issue is to accept who you are and revel in that. This is your time to be in your thirties. I had my time to be in my thirties, and now is my time to be seventy-eight.

"You have to find what's good and true and beautiful in your life as it is now. Looking back makes you competitive. And, age is not a competitive issue."

Tuesdays with Morrie
by Mitch Albom

I believe that, like Morrie, I'm in the right place for me to be now. This is the best time of my life. And if I've learned anything from my life, it's to not put off anything that my gut tells me is important. I try to live by that; some days though, are easier than others.

I live in Oregon, Wisconsin, just outside of Madison. It's the first place I've lived that really feels like home. Even when the winters are 70 below with the wind-chill factor, I love it. While I'm not a skier or outdoors person, I'm excellent at sitting around a fireplace with a glass of brandy.

My current (and last, let me make that perfectly clear) husband, Jan, just retired from teaching after 33 years. We have been married 9 years. He's an avid golfer, woodworker, and gardener and he spoils me rotten. I want every one to know how happy I am; my license plate is LKY NLV. (Jan's is UGOLF2. Hmmmmm…)

I still paint occasionally, but in the last 4 years I have been diligent in completing my first novel. Writing it, that is. I'm in the final rewrite process (until the editor makes me rewrite the whole thing). It's fiction and about domestic violence. They say you should write something you know about. So I took the experiences from my first marriage, what I learned from others during my recovery process, threw in a rather interesting dark twist and hopefully came up with a book that's worth reading.

I work for InterVarsity Christian Fellowship, a campus ministry. I've been with them for 12 years, in Human Resources. I coordinate the day-to-day operation and manage compensation. Before I came to InterVarsity, I managed dental offices in Madison and before that, in Texas. I found dental work fascinating. It's an art. Really.

I lived in Texas for 10 years. Now that was an experience. I loved the people and food, but the snakes, roaches and other creepy crawlies were the pits.

Jan and I have 4 children between us. We each have a son and a daughter. Both his kids (Kids? They're 30 and 27) and my daughter (age 29) live near us. My son (27) is a Staff Sergeant in the Marine Corps, stationed in North Carolina. My two are married and gave us 5 grandchildren (ages 6 years to 8 months).

I much prefer being a grandparent to a parent.

So that's what's up in my life. I'm looking forward to the reunion.


Terry's Picture Page